Seeking clarity and communicating updates at Aqua.

Muwonge Nicholus
2 min readApr 5, 2019
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The most important tool the team at one point may possess is having the ability to communicate clearly. This can be very useful in terms of ascertaining progress, knowing the blockers at hand and the finished tasks.

At Aqua as a team member, I have been able to reach out to my teammates and they to me using one of the many tools used in production called slack. Using this tool, the team is able to post standups of their progress, blockers, code snippets and also get alerted on any updates on the group Repository on Github.

I, for instance, was working on validations for the first time in Django and I really was overwhelmed about how to go about it so I really made use of the team channel to seek help and clarity of how to best go about it as the screenshot may show on slack:

My conversation in the aqua team chat area

There are instances where I didn't get what I was to do in proper detail and to avoid doing what I thought was right and repeating it again , i sought clarity from the Technical Team lead:

enquiring from my TTL

Since we follow up on progress through story cards on Pivotal Tracker, and when I get stuck also refer back to know what to accomplish in a certain story.

I think communication is key to the production of great outputs and one should always enforce this culture among his or her teammates. Thank you.

--

--

Muwonge Nicholus

I am a Javascript and Ruby engineer. I love designing user interfaces and currently working in payment systems.