How I built world Class Features.

It sure does sound like a world-class feature in programming should be something the world has never seen. I, on the other hand, interpret in a way that the feature should, by all means, cater for all possible scenarios and focus on making using the application very user friendly as much as it can.

Well on my current project I have so far worked on three different features but though I think they’re all world-class based on the criticism they go through to be marked finished on the Project Tracker, I will fill you in on only one.

This being the Feature where I add the user profile to the application. I think its a world class feature because in a modern day application user needs the power to brand themselves using profiles and hence connecting with others they find with common interests. In this case, the user can add their picture, biography and a dope username which to be honest would make the user feel a sense of belonging hence visit the application more often. These all define what a modern day feature should be like.

World-class stretches to documenting the feature, writing tests for and also going under peer and Team Lead reviews and I think this is essential for every team to take into consideration.

Thank you.

--

--

Muwonge Nicholus

I am a Javascript and Ruby engineer. I love designing user interfaces and currently working in payment systems.